No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Assumption of proportional odds (brant) in an ordered logistic regression

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on Statalist and I hope I'm presenting all relevant information. I'm using Stata 13.1 for Windows.

I am checking the influence of 2 predictors (both ordinal scale, 5 levels, 3 levels) of an outcome after surgery as dependent variable (ordinal scale with 5 levels) with an ordered logistic regression (N=44).
    Code:
    ologit post_develop_cat pre_develop_cat final_surgery
    In order to check the assumption of proportional odds I installed two add-ons (omodel, brant from spost).
    I have successfully performed an approximate likelihood-ratio test of proportionality of odds across response categories (omodel):
    Code:
    omodel logit post_develop_cat pre_develop_cat final_surgery
    In addition, I wanted to perform the Brant test of parallel regression assumption, as the details option gives coefficients.
    Code:
    ologit post_develop_cat pre_develop_cat final_surgery
    brant, detail
    While this has worked in a previous analysis, now I receive an error message. There was no further information on error #9993:
    not all independent variables can be retained in binary logits
    brant test cannot be computed
    r(9993);
    In order to find out where the problem lies, I repeated the analysis separately for both predictors.
    The first one worked:
    Code:
    ologit post_develop_cat pre_develop_cat
    brant, detail
    The second predictor did not work and produced the error below.
    Code:
    ologit post_develop_cat final_surgery
    brant, detail
    option rhs_beta() required
    r(198);
    This error message is related to syntax errors, the quoted option is not specified as one in the help menu, so I'm not sure how to use it.